Velocidade Online

Mundial - TCR


Domingo, 15 Novembro 2020 15:43 | Actualizado em Sábado, 23 Outubro 2021 06:14

Hyundai Veloster N TCR team take trio of IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge titles
  • Veloster N TCR squad Bryan Herta Autosport secured the drivers’ and teams’ titles from the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge season, with Hyundai winning the manufacturers’ crown
  • Second place in the finale meant drivers Gabby Chaves and Ryan Norman ended as champions in their first year of racing with the Hyundai USA-supported team
  • Bryan Herta Autosport Veloster N TCR won seven of the series’ 10 races, while there were also podiums for Hyundai fellow customers Forty7 Motorsports and Copeland Motorsports.
The Bryan Herta Autosport team have taken a clean sweep of titles from the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge season – finishing 1-2-3 in the drivers‘ and teams‘ standings and giving Hyundai a first manufacturers‘ honour with their Veloster N TCR.
Gabby Chaves and Ryan Norman took the drivers’ title in their first season of racing the Hyundai Motorsport-built car. They clinched the championship with second place at the final round at Sebring International Raceway in Florida to complete a Veloster N TCR 1-2 behind the #21 of Harry Gottsacker and Mark Wilkins, who took second in the standings.
In a season when Veloster N TCR teams won seven of the ten race champions Chaves and Norman were victorious on three occasions – including the penultimate round at Laguna Seca, which gave them the points’ lead going into the finale. The #98 team of Mason Filippi and Michael Lewis and the Gottsacker/Wilkins line-up each took the chequered flag twice, the #21 winning on both of the series’ trips to Sebring.
The tally of wins featured a first win for the team in the championship’s endurance-format four-hour races – coming at Road Atlanta – as well as six 1-2 finishes for Hyundai customers. Three of those came in a remarkable run through July and August when Hyundai teams locked out the podium places for successive events and established, without doubt, the Veloster N TCR as the benchmark car in the class.
After winning both the drivers’ and teams’ title from their first season of IMSA racing last year the Bryan Herta Autosport increased their commitment to the series, and as Hyundai customers, for 2020. After expanding to three cars for the opening round at Daytona they added a fourth for drivers Spencer Brockman and Parker Chase during the break in competition forced by coronavirus restrictions.
The expanded team helped the team secure a first manufacturers’ title for Hyundai, clinched before the final race of the year after a very consistent season. As well as the excellent results from the Hyundai USA-supported Bryan Herta Autosport team there were podiums for the Forty7 Motorsports team – finishing third in the series’ first visit to Sebring – and Copeland Motorsports, whose entry finished second at Road Atlanta in the series debut for drivers Tyler Gonzalez and Tyler Maxson. The final round also brought the series debut of Van Der Steur Racing, as the number of Hyundai customers in the series continues to expand thanks to the proven performance of the Veloster N TCR in the series.
Hyundai Motorsport Customer Racing Operations Leader Andrew Johns said: “This has been a very successful campaign for Bryan Herta Autosport and the Veloster N TCR in the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge. After taking two titles in their first year with the car the team, in partnership with Hyundai USA, increased their commitment and was richly rewarded with all three championships. It has also been a good season for them in their role as Hyundai Motorsport Customer Racing agents in North America, with more Veloster N TCR teams joining the series and taking very strong results thanks to the performance of the car, and the support available to them.”
2020 IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge Drivers’ Standings
After round 10
1G. Chaves/R. Norman289
2H. Gottsacker/M. Wilkins278
3M. Filippi/M. Lewis273
4G. Ernstone/J. Morley267
5M. Faulkner/J. Vance254
6S. Brockman/P. Chase245
2020 IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge Teams’ Standings
After round 10
1#33 Bryan Herta Autosport289
2#21 Bryan Herta Autosport278
3#98 Bryan Herta Autosport273
4#61 Road Shagger Racing267
5#23 Fast MD Racing254
6#29 Bryan Herta Autosport245

Gabby Chaves, Ryan Norman - IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge
Harry Gottsacker, Mark Wilkins - IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge
Veloster N TCR - IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge
About Hyundai Motorsport GmbH
Established on 19 December 2012, Hyundai Motorsport GmbH is responsible for Hyundai’s global motorsport activities, including the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC), Customer Racing and electric racing projects. In WRC, Hyundai Motorsport quickly established a strong reputation taking victory in its debut season in 2014. The team finished as runners-up in the manufacturers’ championship on three consecutive occasions between 2016 and 2018 before claiming its maiden title in 2019. Since the establishment of its Customer Racing activities in September 2015, Hyundai Motorsport has become a trusted partner for teams and drivers looking for success on the rally stages or on racetracks around the world. From its competitive i20 R5 rally car to the competitive i30 N TCR, Hyundai Motorsport-built cars have claimed victory in several championships, including national rally series in France and Spain, as well as consecutive titles in the FIA World Touring Car Cup (WTCR) in 2018 and 2019. Designed and built at its Alzenau headquarters, the Veloster N ETCR was unveiled in September 2019 and heralds an exciting new era, in which electric racing is set to become one of the company’s pillars. Unified under Hyundai Motorsport, WRC, Customer Racing and electric racing are together playing instrumental roles in driving Hyundai’s global high-performance N brand, and are supporting an important perception shift for the Hyundai brand around the world.

Visitantes em linha
contador gratuito de visitas Total de visitas