Velocidade Online

Mundial - TCR


Quinta, 15 Novembro 2018 08:16 | Actualizado em Quarta, 12 Agosto 2020 11:23

Calendar confirmed for inaugural TCR Australia  

The inaugural TCR Australia Series has released its calendar for the 2019 season, with Sydney Motorsport Park set to host the first round of the international touring car racing phenomenon.

The category has confirmed that it will host a seven round championship at all Shannons Nationals events.

The confirmed seven rounds will see the championship visit four Australian states and six different circuits, including two visits to The Bend in South Australia.

Race formats and other series regulations will be announced in the near future.

Negotiations concerning television broadcast coverage of all TCR Australia series races are underway and will be announced in the near future.

The TCR formula has been a worldwide success. Developed in 2014 as a cost-effective touring car racing alternative, the category currently has four internationally-sanctioned TCR Series competing around the world, plus 12 national or regional series utilising the TCR regulations as their main rule book.

Eligible cars include all front-wheel drive C-Segment hatchbacks or sedans, powered by production-based turbocharged engines with a capacity of up to 2-litres.

There are four makes of car already confirmed for the inaugural Australian series, with teams set to race Audi, Volkswagen, Honda and Hyundai entries.

Ahead of the launch of the category next year, an official media and competitors launch will be held at Sydney Motorsport Park on Monday November 19.

Hyundai, Honda, Volkswagen and Audi are all confirmed to race in the 2019 TCR Australia Series.


Round 1: Sydney Motorsport Park, 17-19 May
Round 2: Phillip Island, 6-9 June
Round 3: The Bend Motorsport Park, 12-14 July
Round 4: Queensland Raceway, 2-4 August
Round 5: Winton, 31 August-1 September
Round 6: Sandown, 20-22 September
Round 7: The Bend Motorsport Park, 15-17 November


Matt Braid
Director, Australian Racing Group

“Releasing the calendar is a great milestone for TCR Australia, and we are very pleased to launch the category alongside the Shannons Nationals events,” said Matt Braid.

“The seven events at six circuits give us variety at the best permanent circuits in Australia. 

“The events give us great flexibility on race formats too, and we look forward to announcing those in the coming weeks.

“TCR Australia is one of most anticipated new racing categories to land on the Australian motorsport scene in many years. It will be fresh, exciting and action-packed. 

“There are still a number of factors to confirm, including the broadcasting of the TCR events, and we are close to locking in all the details of what will be a great debut series for the teams and drivers that commit.”

Mike Smith
Director, Shannons Nationals

“We are absolutely delighted to be welcoming the TCR Australia Series to the Nationals in 2019,” Smith said.

“There is a genuine excitement about this category coming to Australia and we can’t wait to host what will be a really competitive and accessible category on some of the best tracks in Australia.

“In 2019, our expanded seven round calendar promises to deliver a really diverse range of motor sport, featuring some new categories, like TCR, as well as categories that already have a strong following.

“After significant investment in our media product for the Nationals this year, we’re expecting an even better product to showcase some terrific motor sport, including TCR, in 2019 and beyond.”

TCR Aus Twitter
TCR Aus Twitter
TCR Aus Insta
TCR Aus Insta
TCR Aus YouTube
TCR Aus YouTube

Visitantes em linha
contador gratuito de visitas Total de visitas