Velocidade Online

Mundial - TCR


Quarta, 07 Novembro 2018 20:24 | Actualizado em Quarta, 23 Setembro 2020 18:44

TCR Korea @ Yeongam
Home glory for Hyundai

Indigo Racing’s Charlie Kang Byung Hui was crowned the first TCR Korea champion in the series’ finale at Yeongam’s Korea International Circuit. Kang grabbed the title halfway through the last race, when the E-Rain Motorsport Volkswagen Golf GTI of his rival Andrew Kim retired with a broken driveshaft while he was running in fifth position ahead of Kang’s Hyundai i30 N.
Kim had managed to take the lead in the standings after Race 1, with a nine-point margin over Kang, but after Race 2 he dropped back to second, six points behind the champion.
Kang’s was the first title claimed by Hyundai in its maiden full season in TCR, which, appropriately, happened in the Korean brand’s home country.
In Race 1, pole sitter guest driver Peter Terting led the field at the start from Noh Dong Gi, Kang Dong Woo, Kim Jin Soo and Andrew Kim; Charlie Kang – who had been excluded from Qualifying after his car failed to pass the ride height check – and Jung Nam Su started from the pit lane. Having built a comfortable margin, Terting was given a drive-through for a jump-start and rejoined in sixth position; Noh Dong Gi inherited the lead in the E-Rain Motorsport Hyundai, while Andrew Kim moved up to second. On lap 9, Charlie Kang and Kang Dong Woo collided while fighting for fourth position and the latter retired with broken rear suspension. Terting overtook Charlie Kang and Kim Jin Soo, moving up to third. In the final part of the race Andrew Kim closed the gap from Noh Dong Gi, but couldn’t get close enough to overtake him and finished second by six tenths. Charlie Kang finished fourth, but was then dropped to sixth by a 30-second time penalty for his incident with Kang Dong Woo.
In the second race, Terting looked set to make up for the disappointment of the previous race. He led from the start and built a comfortable margin, but on lap 17 he pitted with a flat front tyre and rejoined to finish fourth. Tyre issues also hit Race 1 winner Noh Dong Gi who lost one lap in the pits and finished fifth and Kang Dong Woo. Series newcomer Kim Jin Soo in his Indigo Racing Hyundai was victorious, becoming the fifth different winner in six races. During the final lap, Jung Nam Su grabbed second position in his Brand New Racing Golf GTI after a brief battle with Charlie Kang, a result that helped Jung to be classified third in the final standings.

Photos: TCR Korea



Super Taikyu @ Okayama
The Modulo DOME Honda wins the final round

After clinching the TCR class title at the penultimate round, the #97 Modulo DOME Racing Honda Civic FK8 finished the Super Taikyu season in style with victory in the 3-hour race at Okayama International Circuit.
Tadao Uematsu, Shinji Nakano, Hiroku Otsu and Takashi Kobayashi shared the winning car and covered 106 laps to be classified 10th overall behind a string of GT cars.
Competition was very close in the TCR class, as the first five cars classified finished on the same lap.
The #45 Team DreamDrive Audi RS3 LMS (Naoto Takeda, Takuya Shirasaka, Shozo Tagehara) that had started from pole finished in second position, 51 seconds behind the winners, while the #19 BRP Audi (Takeshi Matsumoto, Takuro Shinohara, ‘Yossy’, ‘Hirobon’) led during the first half of the race and then completed the podium in third.
In the final standings, the #98 Honda was classified second and the #19 Audi third.

Photos: Super Taikyu / Honda Racing


TCR Australia
Seven events form the 2019 calendar 

The TCR Australia Series has released its calendar for the 2019 inaugural season. The category has confirmed that it will host a seven round championship at all Shannons Nationals events.
Race formats and other series regulations will be announced in the near future.
Matt Braid,
Director Australian Racing Group: “Releasing the calendar is a great milestone for TCR Australia, and we are very pleased to launch the category alongside the Shannons Nationals events. The seven events at six circuits give us variety at the best permanent circuits in Australia and great flexibility on race formats too.”
Mike Smith,
Director Shannons Nationals: “We are absolutely delighted to be welcoming the TCR Australia Series to the Nationals in 2019. There is a genuine excitement about this category coming to Australia and we can’t wait to host what will be a really competitive and accessible category on some of the best tracks in Australia.”

2019 TCR Australia Series
Round 1: Sydney Motorsport Park, 17/19 May
Round 2: Phillip Island, 6/9 June
Round 3: The Bend Motorsport Park, 12/14 July
Round 4: Queensland Raceway, 2/4 August
Round 5: Winton, 31 August/1 September
Round 6: Sandown, 20/22 September
Round 7: The Bend Motorsport Park, 15/17 November

Photo: TCR-Photo 4


The other races of the upcoming weekend


The final event of the Campeonato España Resistencia takes place this weekend at Circuit de Barcelona Catalunya, where competitors will take part in a two-hour race.
Amongst the many teams than run TCR cars, two are in a close fight for the title: the RC2 Junior Team SEAT León of David Cebrián and Max Llobet is currently topping the standings with 173 points, just one more than the Baporo Motorsport Cupra DSG of Joan Vinyes and Jaime Font.
They will face a strong opposition led by the SMC Junior Motorsport Peugeot 308 of Enrique Hermando and Gonzalo de Andres that dominated the previous event at Jarama.

IMSA stages a non-championship season closing event at Sebring: the 2-hour Michelin SportsCar Encore in which Sportscars, GTs and Touring Cars will race together.
Three teams have entered in the TCR class: Michael Johnson and Stephen Simpson will drive the JDC-Miller Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS with which they have claimed one race victory in the IMSA Continental Challenge; Luke and Tanner Rumburg will race the Rumcastle LLC Volkswagen Golf GTI; Mark Motors Racing will run an Audi for the Canadian pair of Marco Cirone and Remo Ruscitti. 

Vallelunga's Autodromo Piero Taruffi hosts the final round of the Endurance Champions Cup, a two-hour race dedicated to TCR cars.
Amongts the entries are Jonathan Giacon and Luca Rangoni who will share an Audi RS3 LMS DSG run by Tecnodom Racing; another Audi with sequential gearbox has been entered by Pit Lane Competizioni for Enrico Bettera; MM Motorsport will race a Honda Civic FK8 for Emanuele Alborghetti and Luigi Bamonte; Andrea Argenti and Fabian Peroni will alternate at the wheel of the South Italy Racing Opel Astra.


The TCR events of the week

9 / 11 November - IMSA SportsCar Encore @ Sebring, USA
10 November - 2-hour Endurance TCR @ Vallelunga, Italy
10 / 11 November - Campeonato España Resistencia, Round 5 @ Barcelona, Spain


Relive the emotion of TCR action from all over the world !

Watch the latest issue of the video magazine ‘Inside the World of TCR’!

Read all the issues of the digital magazine 'TCR World and Style'!

Visitantes em linha
contador gratuito de visitas Total de visitas